Copic Colors for Mice & Bunnies :)

I’ve recently received several emails asking which Copic colors I use when coloring the House Mouse and Happy Hopper images. 
 
I do promise for all future posts to list the colors used on each card WHEN the  card is posted ~ Girl Scouts’ Honor!   (And I was a Girl Scout Leader too!!)  :)  
I’ve set this up showing you the various GROUPS of colors I use and some examples (although, please keep in mind that they do vary, depending on the light source when the particular picture was taken).   I would encourage you to also take a look at a tutorial I did awhile ago on how I use the various groups of colors, i.e., light, medium, dark shades, to do the actual coloring.

So, here we go.  

1.  Skin Colors:

Skin Colors

Skin Colors

As in example A below, I usually color their skin ~ faces, ears, hands, feet, tails, and bellies! first, with E00 Skin White, sometimes I will use E02 Fruit Pink to lightly outline the skin area. 

A.

A.

Then I add R20 Blush, to give their cheeks some glow!  I also occasionally use R11 Pale Cherry Pink, to add a little more depth to their cheeks, as in B. 

B.

B.

2.  Body Colors:

My favorite group of colors for their actual bodies is this group of tans, E31 Brick Beige, E33 Sand & E35 Chamois:

Tans

Tans

Once again, if you refer to my  tutorial, you’ll see how I do it.   I do sometimes switch my light and dark color combinations. 
 
For example C, I used E31 Brick Beige & E33 Sand
C.

C.

Or for a little darker verision, D, I used E33 Sand & E35 Chamois
D.

D.

And, for an even darker image as in E, I used only E35 Chamois and kept going over the edges for a darker shade. 
 
I’ve been told that each “coat” of Copics darkens the color one-half shade. 
D.

E.

 I also use the Warm Gray group for coloring the bodies ~ W1, W3, W5 & W7.  
Warm Grays

Warm Grays

Once again, it just depends how light or dark I want the mouse or bunny as to which combination I use.   For F below, I believe I used W3 & W5. 
E.

F.

And, another group of grays I use are the Cool Grays ~ C1, C3, C5 & C7.
Cool Grays

Cool Grays

Most of these colors are what I use to color the Happy Hoppers.   Example G is a lighter tone, using C1, C3 and a little C5.  

G.

G.

Sample H is, once again, just darker using C5 & C7.    
H.

H.

The last group I use are various Browns ~ E57 Light Walnut, E71 Champagne & E77 Maroon.  Unfortunately, I’ve used these colors so much that several of the colors are DRY and I haven’t gotten around to ordering refills yet!  
Browns

Browns

For this example, I will use the image I colored in the  tutorial.
I.

I.

That’s it for most of the House Mouse and Happy Hopper color groups!    :)
 
Just one last thing ~ you’ll notice all of the markers I’ve shown here are the Ciao style.  These were among my first purchases, which came in sets.  I’ve now started buying some individual markers in the Sketchstyle and really like these ALOT ~ For two main reasons:  The Sketch hold MORE ink….(many of my Ciaos have run dry already).   AND, (this is just a personal preference) I like the color name and number on the cap so you can easily see which marker you need when referring to a Copic color chart.  The Ciao type have the color name and number on the barrel.    Sketch style is pictured on the top in this photo and Ciao on the bottom.
Sketch on Top, Ciao on Bottom

Sketch on Top, Ciao on Bottom

***Don’t forget…7 Kids College Fund now carries the Sketch markers in LOTS of colors.  They also have an awesome selection of the House Mouse and Happy Hopper images, at unbeatable prices!!  Be sure to check it out!***
 
Don’t hesitate to contact me with any other questions.      Sorry about the length of this post!!    :)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Comments

  1. Are you kidding?? this post is PERFECT, just the info I was looking for, totally awesome, don’t apologize for the length of the post, I am a totally *visual* person, so seeing your examples is awesome.

  2. This is very helpful. Thank you for putting this together, I’ve added it to my favorites.

  3. Wow, thanks for all this great information! I can tell you put a lot of your time into it! I always admire your coloring…so now I know what colors to start building my collection…hehe I do have 3 already!

  4. Awesome info!! I just got some of my first Copics and finished coloring up some HM images…I love how they color!! I definitely NEED more! :)

  5. Thanks for the tutorial. Those are pretty much the colors I use. I’ve picked up some tips for colors from your tutorial that I need to add to my stash. I love the sketch markers too. Oh, to inherit some money and get all the Copic colors!, yes?

  6. Melanie Sullivan says:

    Thank you for taking the time and giving us this info. It was fabulous and such a big help.

  7. LOVE this info Mary. Wish I knew it was here much sooner! LOL!!!! Ya know I need all the ocloring help I could get! Thanks for putting this together!! YOU ROCK!!!!

  8. Thank you so much for sharing this information!

  9. Thanks for sharing the colors, I have been trying to figure that out for a long time!

  10. Absolutely fantastic tutorials for coloring these cute little guys! Thanks evah so much!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers