World Alzheimer’s Day

Earlier on my blog I mentioned that Carolyn King, aka Cammie, designed a set of stamps called Whimsical Autumn in honor of her Grandmother who suffered from Alzheimer’s disease.  Cammie is giving 100% of her proceeds from this set to the Alzheimer’s Association in honor of her Grandmother.

And, in celebration of World Alzheimer’s Day, she is reaching out to some amazing people who deserve to be thanked ~ the Caregivers.  She states:

“Caring for an Alzheimer’s patient is HARD work and an often thankless job. There are so many people who help and so—I am asking you to make a card for a caretaker of a person affected with Alzheimer’s. Yes, you can send it to someone you know. If you do not know anyone to send a card to you can send it to the address below (this is the home my grandmother lived in for the last few years of her life. The nurses, aids and support staff there were tremendous. It is such a difficult job and I would love to see them showered with cards!)”

To the Staff at the Artman Home


250 N. Bethlehem Pike
Ambler, PA 19002
 

 

I can so relate to what she says. My Father died from congestive heart failure, which is also a terrible disease.  My Mom took great care of my Dad during his illness…for a long, long time.  I saw first-hand the life of someone caring for a person who is ill.  It takes an amazingly strong person to do this task. 

This is the card I made to send to the staff at the Artman Home.  I’ve been working on this all week.  It seems when I am trying to make a card for something special, I’m just never satisfied with it.   I do hope they like it and that it may bring some recognition to a caregiver.   In addition, Cammie has collected some UNBELIEVABLE blog candy for one lucky person in commemoration of this event.  Please visit her blog for all the details:  http://myblogbycammie.blogspot.com/2008/09/heart-to-heart-blog-candy.html

Please be sure to check it out and make a card…it could brighten someone’s day!  🙂

 

Thank you

Thank you

Comments

  1. Stunning!!!! Absolutely stunning!!! You will definitely bring a great deal of cheer to the recipient of this card. Such a gorgeous thank you.

    Hugs!
    Carolyn

  2. By the way…Tag! You’re it! The details can be found on my blog:o}

    Hugs!
    Carolyn

  3. This card is beautiful!!!!

  4. jtmontgomery says:

    For those who have not had the pleasure to see mycardz creations in person, I wish you could experience the depth of her cards first hand. Photos have not done justice for the creativity and passion she places into each card. She amazes me many times over with her ideas.

  5. awwww….i think i love this “jtmontgomery” guy! 🙂 (actually, I know I do!)

  6. Your card is GORGEOUS!!! Beautiful as always!

  7. Wow this is beautiful. I love the use of the 2 heart clips, they just suit the card to a T. I have only just come across your blog, but I will be checking in regulary.

  8. terriavidreader says:

    this is such a beautiful card, I’m sure anyone would love to get it. Thanks for making it and showing us how!

Leave a Reply

