Paper Tole steps

I love this technique, it adds sooo much dimension to your cards.  Thought I would include some step-by-step photos to show you just how easy it is! 

Items needed:  Stamp, ink, method of coloring or dp, scissors, embossing tool, foam/mousepad & glue.

1.  For this card (HM Challege No. 8 ~ Halloween) I stamped the image twice.

Step 1

Step 1

2.  Since I wanted to paper tole the candy corn, I colored only the two candy corn on one stamped image; Colored the mice and other items on the second stamping.

Step 2

Step 2

3.  When the colored images are completly dry, I cut out the candy corn, like this.  (My foam sheet/mousepad gets used ALOT, sorry for the grungey appearance!  🙂

Step 3

Step 3

4.  On the front side of image, run the small point of your embossing tool around the edge of your shape, creating an outline.

Step 4

Step 4

5.  Turn your shape over to the reverse side and rub the larger point of the embossing tool in diagonal lines over the entire piece.  You are simply breaking or softening the paper fibers to make them pliable.
Step 5

Step 5

6.  That’s it!   You end up with a slightly curled puffy shape, ready to glue to your card.
Backside of piece

Backside of finished piece

Frontside of finished piece

Frontside of finished piece

Here’s a closeup of the finished card, that has had the additional mice and extra items cut out and glued to the paper tole pieces; It’s really hard to get a good picture of the dimension:
Finished card

Finished card

And the complete card once again.   Fun, huh?   🙂
Happy Candyween!

Happy Candyween!

Please don’t hesitate to ask any questions, if there is some part of this that is confusing.  Thanks for checking this out….Please let me if you try it out ~ I’d LOVE to see your card!   🙂
Comments

  1. OMGosh, Mary! Your finished card is FABULOUS! Those mice in their little costumes are adorable! And great tutorial, too!

  2. great tutorial, I am going to try this.
    Your cards are the best

  3. Kendall Badenoch says:

    Fantastic!!

  4. Hi Mary,

    I am new to your site and am so in love with your work!! Can you tell me what you used to make the dots on the card (House Mouse Candy Corn Card)? I’m totally new to card making and need some advice.

    Thanks,
    Kathy 🙂

  5. Gala Roma says:

    HI MARY,
    Your cards are beatiful, thanks for your tutorials
    Gala.

Trackbacks

  1. […] have a tutorial that I put together quite awhile ago, showing my version of Paper Tole, found here.   There are lots of different versions, this is just one that I use quite […]

  2. […] Paper Tole, Mary from the DT made a tutorial with this technique, and you can find it –> here <– I made this card for my friend Marijke, she is cellebrate her 50 th Birthday today On […]

Leave a Reply

