House Mouse Challenge No. 14 ~ Christmas

Yay, a pretty easy one this week!  All about Christmas.  Our very own DT member, Jennifer, is sponsoring this challenge and giving some very, very nice blog candy.  So, please join us in this challenge…Tis the season!  🙂

'Twas the night before Christmas

'Twas the night before Christmas

This image has been one of my all-time favorites!  How cute is that??  I used the computer to add the excerpt from the story…it really couldn’t have been more perfect for this scene.   Here’s a closeup:

Not even a MOUSE!

Not even a MOUSE!

Both the kitty and the mouse were colored with Copics, cut out and attached separately.  The light bulbs were also cut out and attached ~ I used some clear EP to add a little shine.   Used the new gold shimmer cardstock from PTI for the background.  The bow on the side is from a tutorial found at Splitcoast http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/resources/tutorials/dsp_bow/

Since I wasn’t able to join in last week, I made ANOTHER Christmas card!  🙂   (Sounded like a good excuse to me!)   I used real wrapping paper for the gift box and frame around the image and sentiment.

Your friendship

Your friendship

The flap on the gift box is adhered with dimensionals, it’s hard to see in this photo.   And, in case you’re wondering what is on the sides ~ it’s tissue paper!  🙂   Just like kids, they tossed it to the side.  We had a debate at our house as to whether I should add the tissue paper…I won!  🙂  Here’s another closeup shot:

Not even a MOUSE!

Surprise

I really hope you’re able to join us this week…and have a chance at the blog candy.  Be sure to stop by the challenge blog to see the beautiful creations by my fellow design team…who are ALWAYS so creative! 

Happy Monday….it’s nice to be back!  😀

Comments

  1. I LOVE YOUR CARDS!!!!! I am glad you chose to make 2! They are both spectacular!!! I adore the Kitty one .. that was one of my favorite Christmas storybooks. I also love the gold paper. They are just perfect! have a great week! ((YAY FOR MONDAY!)) 🙂

  2. did you make that bow yourself??!

  3. Oh Mary, these Christmas cards are both super adorable!!!++ LOVE the Great coloring and super color combinations. TFS

  4. Your cards are INCREDIBLE!!!! So merry and festive…I just want to sing Christmas carols and drink hot, spiced cider:O) Your cards always have a way of cheering me up!!!

    I am also glad you won the tissue paper discussion! I think it really adds to the card and makes it all the more special:O)

    Did I tell you how happy I am that you are back? I feel selfish saying that, but your absence is always missed. I hope you and your loved ones are well. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

    Hugs!!!
    Carolyn

  5. Wow…. Mary
    both christmas cards are so wonderful!
    I love this images and colouring!
    Great stamps!
    Hugs Gisela

  6. Terrific holiday cards!

  7. Mary, did you read my mind? I was going to do the little cat and mouse stamp with that same verse (I have the rubber stamp of it though)AND I was going to use wrapping paper, but you beat me to it! But I do like your cards, they are lovely.
    Take care & keep smiling
    Ann x

  8. Oh this is so cool! I love the image and your sparkle is fabulous!

  9. Hi Mary – Just got my card done and had to come by and tell you how cute yours is. I love that you used actual wrapping paper. Your designs on both cards are adorable. I’m gearing up to try my hand at “quilting” – card style. Thanks for such cheery Christmas images.

  10. Love both your cards! They are simply GORGEOUS!!! (wasn’t I on your Christmas card list by any chance…)
    Els
    x

  11. Both cards are so gorgeous. Love the bow that you made and of course the images. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

