On the 1st day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

yA partridge in a pear tree

A partridge in a pear tree

As promised, here’s my Day One card from the Twelve Days of Christmas  by Penny Black.  The full set can be found here http://www.7kidscollegefund.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=PB30016.   My plan is to post a new card every Monday, Wednesday and Friday each week, with the 12th and last day being Christmas!  I truly hope by that time I will no longer have this song stuck in my head 24/7!!  🙂  

I added the Swirly Tree stamp from Custer’s Last Stamp,and stamped and cut out additional pears for the tree.  The partridge has also been cut out and attached with dimensionals; I added some Diamond Glaze on her glasses…a partridge with curlers in her hair, doing needlepoint would need glasses!   Here’s a closeup view:

Needlepoint

Needlepoint

So don’t forget to stop back on Wednesday for….Two Turtle Doves!!   (Can you even say it without singing???) 

I also wanted to add this information.  I had done some research on colors, etc. for the images on the stamps and came across the true meaning for this song.  I had never heard this before, and thought it was interesting ~ My True Love would be God, and the gifts he has given to us.   (I’ll include an excerpt with each card.)

A Partridge in a Pear Tree
The partridge in a pear tree is Jesus the Christ, the Son of God, whose birthday we celebrate on December 25, the first day of Christmas. In the song, Christ is symbolically presented as a mother partridge that feigns injury to decoy predators from her helpless nestlings, recalling the expression of Christ’s sadness over the fate of Jerusalem: “Jerusalem! Jerusalem! How often would I have sheltered you under my wings, as a hen does her chicks, but you would not have it so . . . .” (Luke 13:34)

Comments

  1. ADORABLE!!! This card is too dang cute:o) I love the rollers in her hair, and the pears look yummy enough to eat!!! Great, now I am wanting a pear. Hopefully, that craving will pass:o) I cannot wait to see Wednesday’s card!!!

    Hugs!
    Carolyn

  2. Wow, such a stunning card! This partridge is so cute!
    Can’t wait to see the rest of your cards!
    Els
    x

  3. what a fabulous card!! I too have that particular stamp set, but how come I never think to embellish it in the way others too – adding a tree, cutting out the extra pears etc etc!!! I think too simply when it comes to my cards!!

  4. LOVE those rollers and those glasses are great. It’s a real fun card, who ever gets this is just going to love it.
    Take care & keep smiling
    Ann x

Leave a Reply

