True Love

You may wonder why I title this post “True Love“?

I’m always amazed when I read stories about couples who have been together for sooo many years, through good times and bad, through sickness and health …  and suddenly one of them passes away ~ shortly thereafter to find out that the other remaining partner soon “joins” the other.   These stories amaze me.   I think it refers to a true love that few really know.

A very, very close person in my life lost his father in November;  We have found out that his mother now has cancer and has been given a life expectancy of three months to two years. This card is for him.   It’s so hard to find words to express how you feel at these times.

I'm here for you!

I'm here for you!

I really tried to keep the card as simple as possible as far as embellishments.  I do, however, tend to use LOTS of marker colors when I’m feeling pretty intense about a particular subject.  Well, this one is probably the highest number of colors I’ve used yet!! 

The stamp is from the company Stamps Happen, Inc., by D. Morgan, and named Through the Storm

Someone had previously left a comment to me that the stamps by this company are very detailed…I totally agree!! 

Thanks for listening to my long-windedness.   My thoughts and prayers are with my friend, John, on the long road ahead.

Copic Colors Used:

Sky:  C1, C5 & C7

Water:  B93, B95 & B97

Sand:  E31, E33, E35 & E51

Grasses:  G21, G94, G96 & G99

Lighthouse:  C1 & C5

0 Colorless Blender throughout

Inks Used:

Memento Tuxedo Black

Uni-ball Signo White Gel pen for rain, seagulls, whitecaps & lighthouse

Papers Used:

Neenah Solar White cardstock

Core’dinations ColorCore cardstock  

Comments

  1. This card is stunning, and so touching. The coloring is magnificent. I am so sorry to hear of your friends loss, I am sure your kind gesture will help to comfort him. {{hugs}}

  2. I love your blog! Your mouse house cards blow me away everytime. You’re a true artist!!!

  3. So sorry for the occassion for the card but it’s a stunning card. Totally amazing!

  4. Mary, this is soooo incredibly beautiful! The sentiment with it is perfect and I’m so sorry for your friend. I know that makes you so sad for him. What a wonderful card to send him.

  5. This card is totally incredible…You definitely put your heart in it…I can tell…tfs..prayers are with you and your friend.

  6. Jessica G. says:

    Beautiful card, and very appropriate for the difficult situation. Your coloring technique is perfect and the cardstock is very elegant.

  7. Mary I am so sorry to hear about the difficult situation you friend,John is having. Our thoughts and prayers will be with him,his family and his friends.
    The card is BEAUTIFUL! Your coloring is fantastic and I love the DP.
    Connie (aka stampinfrog)

  8. Mary, hugs to you and your friend. This card is simply stunning. Your coloring is amazing. Is the center panel popped up on popdots? Simply beautiful and I can’t thank you enough for your copic markers listing on each post. What a huge help for those of us that are new to all this.

  9. this card is so beautiful, and it was so thoughtful of you to make it for your friend. I’m so sorry for their loss and the pain they are going through right now. hugs to you.

  10. Thank you – there is no way that I can tell you what your sentiment has meant and all the words of your viewers. I love you.

  11. Beautiful, something I’m sure he will treasure forever.

  12. I haven’t visited you for such a long time and all the cards you’ve made since my last visit are gorgeous, but this one has to be my favorite. No embellishments needed the stamp and sentiment is just too lovely to be crowded with ribbons and such. Your colouring on this is just perfect and the way you’ve done the rain and the water is excellent, such a difficult element to make look right.
    So, so sorry to hear of your freinds loss and his mothers illness, just like your card, it never rains but pours. But he’ll make it through, he has you.
    Take care & keep smiling (even though it’s hard)
    Ann x

Trackbacks

  1. […] Friends of ours are real wine connoisseurs….wine of the month clubbers,  wine cellar in their home ~ the whole nine yards!  Soooooo, when I found this awesome set of stamps by Stamps Happen from their new line for 2009, I couldn’t resist ~ especially since the stamps produced by this company are always very detailed and so well-made.   (Here are links to two other cards I previously made with Stamps Happen stamps… Guess How Much I Love You and True Love) […]

Leave a Reply

