An Ode to the Party Line! :)

I know, once again, I’m dating myself here…  Anyone else out there remember the party line ~ waiting to make a call while your neighbor was talking for hours???   Come on, someone has to remember …

Steph

Steph

Meet STEPH, one of the retro images from InStyle Stamps.  The whole time I was working on this card, I was remembering the “old days” of talking on a phone that was attached to the wall!!   How did we ever get anything done??  Eventually, the phone cord was so stretched out … it didn’t curl anymore!    And, of course, going wayyyyyyyy back…the unforgettable PARTY LINE….      [Definition:  A single telephone line which is shared by two or more households.]
Party LIne

Party LIne

The kids nowadays have NO idea how good they have it!!  

Be sure to check out all the newest images at InStyle Stamps…they are VERY groovy!!   🙂

**************************************

 

Stamps:  InStyle Stamps, Steph;

               Stampabilities, Blah blah blah

     

Paper:  Neenah, Solar white cs;

             Creative Imaginations, Pizzazzill dp;

            PTI, raspberry fizz and black cs

               

Ink:     Memento, black;

            Colorbox lime green

 

Accessories:  Computer generated inside sentiment;

                     Spellbinders Nestabilities, Large Labels die;

                     Diamond Glaze; Black rhinestones; Target

                     Dollar section ribbon

                                          

Copics:   Hair – YR23, YR31

               Face/Skin – YR00, E00, E02, R20

               Shirt/headband/slippers – RV02, RV04, RV29

               Pants/earrings – C-5, C-7, 100

               Phone – YG03, YG23, C1

               Ground – YG23, W3, W4

               Outlining – W4

Comments

  1. What a cute card! I remember the cord stretched way across the room. Hey, the long cord gave us the “freedom” to stir the soup while still talking on the phone – what a luxury! I’ll have to check out their stamps – I still don’t have any of these and they’re really growing on me.

  2. I love this card. Yes I remember the party line, my mom always complainted about it. I really need to check out these stamps, so cute!

  3. Oh yes, I remember the party lines. So annoying! LOL!!
    Super cute card!

  4. Hello Mary and welcome to the ISS Group!!!!!!

    Your card is so pretty and I just LUV that shade of green…very pretty! Your image is colored in beautifully also!
    hugs
    Risa:)
    p.s. I stopped by the Copic Challenge Blog and the idea is great!

  5. I well remember the party line. How else did we get the news in our small town! Everyone knew when someone had a baby, was selling a washing machine, had company coming from out of town, or wasn’t feeling well. The small farming community I grew up in was “tight” because of it. Cute card…TFS.

  6. Hee Hee…I think I had that exact same green phone! This is gorgeous – love these colors and love how you framed her with that fun sentiment!!

  7. I have heard of a party line though I never experienced one myself. We did however have a time when we got a crossed line, that was you could hear someone elses conversation but you couldn’t actually talk to them but you could still have your own telephone conversation. Could get a bit confusing. I do like these InStyle stamps, I love their faces, they remind me of that old American program (can’t remember the name) the one with the witch who wiggled her nose. Of course the paper you’ve used is fabulous, it’s my favourite colour – Green, and the BLAH sentiment is cool.
    Take care & keep smiling
    Ann x

Leave a Reply

