Copic Coloring for Distressed Wood

I was trying to achieve a distressed/worn/aged look on a wooden fence for the Copic Creations  challenge of WOOD.  Aside from the great Marianne Walker’s I Like Markers blog, I wasn’t able to find any other tutorials on this subject!   So, I thought I would show you the steps I took to color this fence stamp.   Please keep in mind, I am not a Copic teacher – merely a Copic lover!  🙂 

The Copic colors I used are:  

E31 ~ Brick Beige (my lightest color)

E33 ~ Sand (medium color for shading)

E43 ~ Dull Ivory (medium color)

E57 ~ Light Walnut (darkest color)

6 037

Using my lightest color, E31 ~ Brick Beige, I outline each section of the fence.

6 040

I then continue to color-in each section with the same E31.  To quote Marianne, it’s okay if your coloring at this point is streaky, just be sure to color with the grain of the wood.

6 041

My next step is to add “streaks” in the mid-range color, E43 ~ Dull Ivory.

6 045

To add the darkest color, you do not want to be very heavy-handed ~ add very thin, short highlights.  I used the point of the broad end of the marker for this process, using E57 ~ Light Walnut.

6 046

Next, I again used E31 ~ Brick Beige to lightly blend the two darker colors together.

6 049

The final step for me is to use another medium toned color, E33~ Sand to add some shadow tones to the fence in areas that I wanted to look a little more distressed.

6 055

That’s it!   Obviously, there are many brown choices in Copic colors, but I wanted to show you my choices for an aged wooden fence.

6 057

Hope this is helpful… please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions!

 Here’s  the completed card.

Comments

  1. Jean Anne says:

    VERY helpful, TFS!

  2. Awesome tutorial – thank you so much 🙂

  3. awesome tutorial girl!!!

  4. wow this looks fantastic ! Stunning !

  5. Wow! Just love it! Well done!

  6. BARBARA ISERI says:

    Thanks for this tutorial. You really make it sound so easy. Guess I’ll be doing a lot of practicing this week. Cause I really love your coloring technique. Very beautiful. Makes everything look real.

    Thanks again.
    bobbi

Trackbacks

  1. […] Copic Coloring for Distressed Wood   […]

  2. […] wood look ~ So, no excuses to not join us on this challenge!    All the details can be found here.   But, even if you are unable to join us, you MUST check out the truly AMAZING wood cardz by […]

  3. […] lightest color, E50.  This step is actually quite similar to coloring wood (see my tutorial here), there is no need to worry about streaks since lots of other colors will be applied on top of […]

Leave a Reply

