Copic Coloring of Brunette Hair

 

I thought I’d do a photo tutorial to show you my personal technique for coloring brunette hair.  I like to use several shades of brown Copic markers – light, medium & dark – to give the hair LOTS of  glimmers of  low-lights, highlights and reds, as if the sun were shining to catch each color!  

Once again, please keep in mind, I am not a Copic instructor, I just love my Copic markers!   🙂

 [You can click on any of the photos for a closer view.]

Here’s a list of the markers I used to color my image, from lightest to darkest.   (Of course, these are all available for the best price in town at 7 Kids College Fund!)  

 

E000 – Pale Fruit Pink;  E50  –  Egg Shell;  E51 – Milky Way;  E53 – Raw Silk;  E31 – Brick Beige;  E43 – Dull Ivory;  E37 – Sepia;  E39 – Leather;  E29 – Burnt Umber; E47 – Dark Brown; and E49 – Dark Bark.

DSC_5882

 

And, a picture of the AMAZING  lineart image I will be coloring.  (More details on how to download this image can be found here.)

DSC_5885

Lady Rose Dragon

 

My first step is to color the entire hair area with my second lightest color, E50.  This step is actually quite similar to coloring wood (see my tutorial here), there is no need to worry about streaks since lots of other colors will be applied on top of this.

DSC_5890

E50

 

Moving on to the next darkest color, E51 – I add streaks throughout the hair area.

DSC_5893

E51

 

Note:  As Marianne Walker (I Like Markers) suggests, always use a light feather stroke when coloring hair, and always go in the direction of the hair strands.

 

I continue to add feathered streaks, each time with a slightly darker color…intermittently throughout the hair area. 

 

DSC_5898

E53

 

DSC_5900

E31

 

E43 for some medium shaded low-lights ~

DSC_5901

E43

 

E37 ~ a slightly auburn color for some red highlights

DSC_5903

E37

 

E39 ~ a darker auburn color for some red low-lights

DSC_5906

E39

 

E29 ~ the start of your darker brown colors to begin the brunette hair color

DSC_5908

E29

Please note:  The darker streaks may appear a little harsh at this point, but keep in mind you will be going back later and blending with your lighter markers.

 

E47 ~ A darker brown ~  for the areas I want to appear darker and more shaded, such as the hairline

DSC_5907

E47

 

And the last dark brown, E49, used sparingly, only at the hairline for the effect of a darker root color

DSC_5909

E49

 

I now begin the blending process  ~  lightening some of the darker highlights and blending all the colors somewhatRemember to also do your blending in streaks, to retain some of the lighter highlight colors. 

 

I begin this blending process with E43, moving on to E31, then E53, all the way back to E50.

DSC_5910

E43, 31, 53, 51 & 50

 

My final step is to go over any area that I would like to appear lighter and to blend any areas that remain too dark for my liking, with my lightest color – E000. 

 

Yay!   This is my completed brunette hair image.

DSC_5913

E000 - Blending

 

And, finally, here’s the image with the other elements colored and some flower embellishments added.  

 6 259_1

 

I know this tutorial uses LOTS of Copic markers, and I’m sure you can skip one or two from each group – light, medium and dark – to also attain a suitable brunette hair color.  However, as I mentioned, I just LOVE to see all the low-lights, highlights and reds on my images with brunette hair!  🙂

 If you’re interested, here’s a link to the complete card with this image:   BRUNETTE HAIR.

Thanks for following this….I hope it was helpful to you. PLEASE don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions.

Comments

  1. This is gorgeous, it is a work of art and should be hung up on a wall. and thanks for the tutorial

  2. Only have 3 words for this: wow Thanks WOW!

    No seriously I agree with Debbie – it’s a work of art, absolutely gorgeous.

  3. That is beautiful. You should be a certified copic instructor. Gorgorous coloring. Love it.

  4. Gorgeous! I’m so happy that image is free 🙂 I have one question. What paper did you use to color this image on?

  5. Outstanding! Mary, this is GREAT….WOW!

  6. Gorgeous!!! Mary, you are such a copic goddess!!!! I love how you showed each step and the end result is stunning!

  7. goodness you have soooo much patience…this is absolutely wonderful…love all the tints!

  8. This is absolutely stunning. I truly have never seen an image come to life like this one. I am in such awe, great job!!

  9. What a wonderful coloring!! I love it!!

    hugs, Nicole

  10. AMAZING!

  11. Cindy H. says:

    OMGosh, this is stunning!!! Love your coloring!!!

  12. This is gorgeous.

  13. This is amazing. Thanks so much for sharing! I’ll be giving your tutorial a shout out on my blog tomorrow 🙂

  14. this is AMAZING! I love the image but your COLORING is what makes it come ALIVE! thanks for sharing your tips & the link to the free images.

  15. WOW!! Incredible!

  16. Wow, this is really good colouring. It all looks so life like. I am just starting out with my copics and would LOVE to be able to get this sort of effect.

  17. Fran Gumprecht says:

    Fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

  18. I am blown away, I would have never thought to use that many colors but the result is magnificient!

  19. I agree with the person before me, I could never imagine using so many markers, but your results are MAGNIFICENT!!!! WOW!!! I am new to copics and searching different tutorials, THANKS so much for the great info!!!

  20. how do you keep the blending from washing away the colors. When I get to the end of the layering and start to blend it has the effect of the color blender and wipes the colors out? Can you advice. Awesome coloring.

  21. Thank you for taking the time to make this tutorial. It is fab!
    Love and hugs ~ Lori

  22. Wow this is such a great tutorial and I must say you did an excellent job ,looks so realisticThanks for sharing this video and your talent Hope to see more of your videos Danielle

  23. Awesome job! Absolutely beautiful!

  24. fab tutorial! Stunning finished image!

Trackbacks

  1. […] a tutorial showing you which Copic markers I used to color this particular card, that can be found here.   I hope you can take a […]

  2. […] Copic Coloring of Brunette Hair (for anime lineart image) […]

  3. […]  I shouldn’t be admitting this, but I actually pulled up my own tutorial for coloring Brunette Hair ~ it’s been awhile and I couldn’t recall all the Copic colors I had […]

  4. […] this free image can also be found here.   I did a Coloring Brunette Hair tutorial also, found here, using this image –  I had to follow it myself to color the image again!  […]

Leave a Reply

