Anna is having a tea party!

DSC_8655a

 

My adorable granddaughter, Anna, asked if grandma would make 15 birthday party invitations for her upcoming 5th birthday.   Anna really loved this little cutie stamp from High Hopes.   (Did you know that 7 Kids College Fund  now carries High Hopes stamps??)   

As all little girls, (and big girls too!)  Anna loves LOTS of glitter and sparkle, so I added some lavender Stickles to her dress, polar white Flower Soft to her feather boa, white opal Liquid Pearls for her necklace and the buttons on her gloves and a pink gemstone to the flower on her hat.  Here’s a photo of the completed “original” invite:

 

DSC_8657a

 

It always takes me SUCH a long time to color an image and the thought of coloring 15 images was a little overwhelming for this grandma!  🙂   Soooooo, I colored the original image, scanned it to my computer (before adding any embellishments), and bought some blank notecards byAvery from the office supply store.   

 

DSC_8671a

 

I was able to go directly to Avery’s website and follow their instructions for this particular template.   Easy peasy!!  🙂    I followed the same format for the original invitation and printed out 15 smaller versions.    I can’t believe how much time this saved me.

 

DSC_8664a

 

I was even able to include the party details for Anna to fill in on the reverse side of each invitation.

 

DSC_8670a

 

After they were printed, I added some extra embellishments to each “copy” to match the original.    Anna can now keep the original card as a keepsake.

 

DSC_8667a

 

I was pretty excited at how easy this process was and thought it might work well for a gift set of notecards, even Christmas cards, allowing the recipient to have the original colored image to keep!    

Thanks for stopping by … Please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions about any of the above.   Hope you’re having a relaxing Sunday.

Comments

  1. Grandma, you are a GENIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!! Never would have thought about that… What a GREAT Idea!!!! And I love the invitation, what a perfect invitation for a 5 year olds party.. the coloring and touch of flowersoft is just right..Next time I have allot of invites I am going to give this a try

  2. What a great idea, Mary!! When I first started reading your post I thought you were SuperGrandma, coloring 15 of these!! Well, you’re still SuperGrandma for coming up with this idea……but wow did you save some time!! Great job, & I’m sure she loves them!!

  3. What a fab card, and CLEVER idea!! I too didn’t envy you the prospect of colouring 15 images all the same, much as I love colouring, but I don’t think it would have crossed my mind to scan it, and then print them off.

    Hope the party goes well.

    Judi xx

  4. Darling…I see even the printed ones have all the fun fluff and pearls…what a great “gwamma” you are! Love the idea…wish I thought of it when I was making Coles invites this year…next year LOL!

  5. First, I’m jealous of grandbabies! Second, you rock Grandma!!! What amazing invitations! This image is just darling! Great job!

  6. How clever you are!! Awesome!!! Love this and your idea too!!

  7. How clever you are!! Awesome!!! Love this and your idea too!!
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  8. What Wonderful ideas, terrific card and FANTASTIC coloring SuperGrandma! 🙂 So happy to see you posting again. Hang in there woman and know you have many friends out here. 🙂 Love ya!

  9. Waw Mary, this is awesome 😉

    Hugs, Janneke

  10. These just turned out soo wonderful and I am all about saving time when it comes to something like this!! how lovely the are though!

    Nina
    TMITA
    http://theresmagicintheair.blogspot.com/

  11. Hi Mary,

    This is so ingenious!!! Love this image and so perfect for a little girl’s party.

    Hugs~
    Maylee

  12. Mary:
    Awesome Girly Party Invitation!! Wow!

    **Sony**
    Sonia-Studio60

  13. Thanks for the FYI…you are the best!

  14. That ws sooooo SMART !! I have 5 granddaughters and wow is that idea going to save me some time .I just love it and love your card . Thanks so much !

Leave a Reply

