Blessings of Christmas

DSC_9009a

 

Sooooo, have I mentioned lately how much I love these new Penny Black  stamps??!!   NO?   Well, I love em a lot!   If you’ve been following for the past few days, this is my third image from the awesome new Penny Black holiday images  now available at 7 Kids College Fund.   I just love each one more than the last.   This one is called Celestial Heart.

 

DSC_8991a

 

I found this sentiment on the internet and thought it was pretty appropriate for this card.  I actually would love to use this for our Christmas cards this year, just wish it were February or March so I could spend enough time on them!!   Oh well, I might have to tailor this one down since it took quite awhile for me to finish it!   I think the worst part was that I had decided to do lots of layers with the image, not realizing that there are three little hearts that hang down off the trumpet.   And when I say little, I mean REALLY little!   I was pretty proud that I actually got them colored, cut out and attached to some nylon iridescent string I had!!   I won’t tell you how long THAT took!

Here’s a picture to show you the actual layers …  I believe this is an EIGHT layer card!!   Is that a record??    🙂

 

DSC_9002a

 

This is the very first card I have ever done where the edges have been distressed!   It was actually lot of fun ~  Although I think I may go out and buy a distressing tool … my fingernail is still sore!  

I even made my own glitter buttons ~ just added some Star Dust Stickles to the back of a transparent button – pretty cool!   The sentiment is computer generated.

DSC_9011a

 

I think I’ll give you a break from the Penny Black stamps for awhile!    Well  …  maybe just one more!  🙂    Thanks for stopping in today!

****************************************************

Copics Used:   E000, 00, 04, 07, 08, 09, 11, 50, 51, 53; R11, 20, 39; Y15, 28, 38; RV29; W0, 1, 3, 4, 5, 6

Comments

  1. you truly have brought these stamps alive!

  2. AWESOME card, love your coloring it’s so ALIVE!!

    Hugs,
    Patricia

  3. Another beauty!!!! Love all the layers and the color combo is wonderful!!! Your distressing is gorgeous hun and love that glitter button and the mini hearts from the trumpet!
    Hugs~ Kim

  4. Hi Mary! Beautiful! oh, I hope my stamps come today…I won’t have time to color them, but just having them sometimes has to be enough! lol I love the colors and papers you used and your coloring is remarkable! love it!
    Pam Going Postal

  5. Mary, this turned out soooo beautiful! The time you took on it truly paid off! This is another one of those cards that I could sit and stare at and only dream that I could make. You are just wonderful!

  6. Oh Mary, your coloring is super wonderful! I love what you have done with these Penny Black stamps. You really know how to breathe life into them. How can you bear to be parted from them. I know how much joy it is to get a truly beautiful project like this. I’m sure you feel that way too when someone who appreciates your work is gifted with one. TFS!

  7. Oh your paintings are so rich in color ! A very regal holiday card!

  8. Holy Smokes, this is overly gorgeous!!! 8 layers of delight, absolutely stunning display and WOW with those hearts off of the trumpet!! Wonderful distressing too, but until your distressing tool comes in, you could rake scissors over the edges of the papers and give your poor lil’ fingernail a rest, lol. Beautiful beautiful!!
    Have a great day,
    Stephanne

  9. WOW this card is absolutely stunning!!!! I love the colors and that paper is gorgeous!!! Such an elegant card!!!
    :)Kathy

Leave a Reply

