House Mouse Challenge ~ On the Beach

 

Happy House Mouse Monday!!    🙂

It was my turn this week to choose our challenge.  I thought it would be fun for a freezing January 4th to do an “On the Beach” theme.   Kind of a “wishing I were there” theme!                                                                                                                       

 

 

This HM stamp is called Beach Bums and features Amanda, Muzzy and Mudpie

 I stamped the image onto watercolor paper and used Tim Holtz Distress Inks to color both the sand (tea dye) and the sky (faded jeans) ~ I also added some Stickles in Antique Linen to the sand; I then stamped the image again on regular cardstock and colored the “guys” and the sea shells with Copics, cut them out and attached them with dimensionals.  The “song” sentiment is computer generated and the DP is from Anna Griffin ~ I thought it looked a little like water.   I really wouldn’t want to tell you how long this card took to put together!!                                                          

 

 

Be sure to stop over at the House Mouse Challenge Blog to see all the awesome “On the Beach” creations by the HM Design Team.   I hope you can join us for this fun challenge!

***********************************************************

Copics Used:   Y11, 15, 17;  YR07, 09, 24;  YG01, 03, 23;  V09, 17;  B02, 04, 06;  RV00, 06, 09, 32, 34;  R000, 01, 11, 20, 30, 32; E000, 00, 01, 11, 30, 31, 33,  40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 50, 51, 53, 55, 70, 71, 74;  T1, 3, 5

Comments

  1. Yeah, definitely wishing I was there. Only 29 degrees here today and only supposed to get to the mid 40s. Doesn’t sound bad to most people, but in Florida, we really aren’t set up for the cold. Schools have outdoor corridors and winter coats aren’t made for such low temps. Really hard on the kids and us old people in our mid ^^^^ LOL!!!
    Love this adorable little beach scene!! Can’t miss with a cute HM image and your fabulous coloring!!! Great job!

  2. cracking up over here Mary in my snow covered house! 🙂 this is adorable!

  3. Oh my goodness!!! IM Laughing and smiling and lovin’ how you creatively find all those super FUN sentiments GF!!! And Im blown away by your perct coloring!! WOW!!!! YOU AMAZE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great card!

  4. Ooo, now I’ve got that song in my head … someone better take me away from the 3 feet of snow we got here in Vermont. If I could walk into a card it would be this one … the water looks refreshing and the sky such a lovely shade of blue. Great job on the challenge and great idea for a challenge! Keep on stampin’ on!

  5. Mary! You and I used the same image! LOL How fun. I love your sentiment too! I was so glad to see that you wrote how you colored your sand. What a great idea. I had trouble with my sand and I’ll remember your tip in the future! Wonderful card and a fun challenge! Best, Curt

  6. I love how the inks look on the watercolor paper. Great job!

  7. Very cold here so nice to see such a summery card. I must say really you captured the beach perfectly. I can feel my toes in the sand as we speak…

  8. Oooh fabulous card Mary! Beautiful colouring and I love your ‘sea’ BG
    Wish I was there too, we’ve just had the coldest December in 30 years (and no sign of things improving!) Wouldn’t it be lovely to feel a bit of sun on your back ….

  9. Oh wow, I love it. Great card Mary.

  10. What a gorgeous card! Love it!

  11. I love this song, and this card! You always rock the House Mouse images!!

  12. okay…just how long did it take you ( I ask as I am singing along…)! Wonderful card and great idea for this week’s challenge!

  13. This is INCREDIBLE!!! I wish I knew how to do such a detailed image, I also wish I was lying on that beach with them!!! TFS!!!

  14. LOL! You really love these little guys! Gorgeous coloring and love love the sentiment/song! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day!

  15. Mary that is gorgeous! Love the sentiment….it gave me the giggles….as my friends and I danced to Kokomo in 3rd grade for our talent show at school! lol! Wishing you some warmth…..it’s SUPER cold up to the north here….BRING ON SUMMER!
    Hugs~ Kim

  16. Hi Mary

    Oh my gosh your colourwork is fantastic, you have really brought this image to life, fab sentiment!

    Joey.x

  17. Aren’t they just the cutest things you ever did see! Love how colorful they are! Mary, you did an awesome job creating this!
    Pam Going Postal

  18. Oh Mary – you’ve just blown me away with this amazing card. Your colouring is second to none, your backing paper does look just like water and your details are amazing, especially that fab sentiment – I shall be singing this for the rest of the day now and probably cursing you by bedtime lol.
    hugs Heather xx

  19. WOW this is so beautiful! I can almost hear the waves! Your coloring is so amazing…I love how your images all just POP off the paper!

Leave a Reply

