All That Scraps Wednesday Challenge ~ Easel Card

 

Time for a new challenge at All That Scraps.  Today, it’s one of  my favorite types of cards ~ Easel style.   If you haven’t tried one yet, the instructions which can be adjusted to any size card, can be found here.    

The image I used is Swiss Pixies Spring Birgitta from C.C. Designs.   Thought she would be perfect for another Easter card.   She’s been colored with Copics, cut out and attached the card front with dimensionals. 

I added some Smooch pearlized paint in moonlight to the flowers in her hair and on her dress.  I love this stuff for the small areas on an item that has been colored with Copics – it definitely covers over your Copic colors that aren’t supposed to be there!     Sometimes it’s hard NOT to get Copics on these areas, like the flowers in her hair, when you’re doing various shading.  So Smooch paint is my friend!   🙂

I also used a paper doily that I threaded a thin ribbon through.  I added some white Fun Flock to the bunny to make it look soft and furry and a small white puff for the tail.  

 

 

Here’s a quick side view of the Easel card style . . .

 

 

The dp is from the brand new Basic Grey 6×6 paper pad collection called Green at Heart.  I also used the Martha Stewart Spring Grass punch, which was also cut and embossed with my Spellbinders Nestabilities Circle die.   The sentiment, from Verses Rubber Stamps, was also cut out and embossed using a Spellbinders Nestabilities Scalloped Square die.  I added some white daisies from my stash and some self-adhesive pearls which were colored to match using Copics. 

 

 

I hope you can stop over at the All That Scraps Wednesday Challenge blog  to take a peek at all the awesome Easel cards from the always amazing Design Team.    And, I hope you will join us in this challenge ~ it’s really a fun technique!

Thanks for visiting ~ I hope you can stop back later this evening for a St. Paddy’s Day card I’ve made for the Waltzing Mouse Blog Hop.   A VERY Happy St. Paddy’s Day to everyone!

********************************************************

Copics Used:   R20, 21, 22, 24, 30, 32, 35;  RV00;  BV32;  E000, 00, 01, 11, 30, 31, 35, 43, 44, 47, 49, 53;  W0, 1, 3;  T1, 3, 5

Comments

  1. MARY! This is absolutely GORGEOUS!! I love everything you do!

  2. Wowzers, Mary – so Spring-y and gorgeous! The doily and ribbon add so much. TFS!

  3. OMGosh Mary! This is soooooo fabulous!

  4. This is beautiful! And wow, your coloring is amazing! :-)Traci

  5. OH WOW!!!! This is SO AMAZING!!!! I come to your blog quite a bit and definitely don’t leave enough comments because I get SO MUCH inspiration from you!!!!

    This is SO BEAUTIFUL!!!! I LOVE that stamp and your coloring, I will also be making one of these easel cards!! I’ve seen quite a few lately, but your gorgeous example has finally persuaded me to try it!! THANK YOU!!!

    Jodi

  6. I need to go out and find some really cool doilies to use in my paper play. The extra fine flower soft is amazing. Oh by the way your cards rocks!

  7. she is so precious Mary! beautiful coloring and lovely creation! I just got my Spring CC Designs kit today and I think there are a couple boys that will be great with her!! lol
    Pam Going Postal

  8. sakurazamori says:

    Such a pretty card. This is a really cool use of a paper doily. I’m almost tempted to give the Easel card style a try.

  9. Gorgeous Easter Card, Love the doily

  10. Your coloring just rocks my world, Mary! FABULOUS easel card, and Birgitta is adorable!

  11. This is so cute! I love the colors and your detail with the fuzzy bunny! Neat idea with the doily too!

Leave a Reply

