All That Scraps Challenge ~ Stitchin’ and . . .

 

 Yay!    I’m back for some human contact!   Sorry for the lack of posts recently ~ We’ve been working on the next Magnolia Ink magazine and I’ve been a little overwhelmed with projects for it.   But, I definitely had to take a break for my favorite – All That Scraps Wednesday Challenge.   This week our challenge is Stitching!    Definitely not my favorite task.    I’ve given up trying to sew straight with the machine, so I thought I would try some hand-stitching ~ unfortunately, even that is crooked!!   lol   Oh well, I tried.  

This little cutie is Tulip Trevor from the C.C. Designs Sugarplums collection.  I thought he would be perfect for a Mother’s Day card from a little boy . . . or big boy!   I was actually happy with how the embroidery stitching on the tulips turned out – no need to be too straight for that!   🙂    I also hand-stitched around the main oval image and the sentiment.   Since I was about out of patience, I did some faux stitching around the card!    I now truly understand the saying “Stitchin’ and Bitchin’“, cuz I sure was doing ALOT!! 

 

 

 The dp is from Bo Bunny and the sentiment is from the awesome Gina K Designs stamp set Notes to Mom.   I added two black buttons tied with pink embroidery thread, hoping not to have too much pink on this “boyish” card!  

I used the new Spellbinders Nestabilities Labels Ten die (again) for the matting behind the main image.  I really am enjoying using this set!   I also was VERY excited that 7 Kids College Fund now has ALL the new Distress Ink colors in stock!   I used the new Tumbled Glass for highlighting on the background for this one.   

Now be sure to pop over to the All That Scraps Wednesday Challenge blog to see all the awesome projects for the soooo-very talented DT!    I hope you will join us for this challenge (and show me some STRAIGHT stitching!)  

**************************************

Copics Used:   C1; RV10, 11; B000, 02; BG13, 23, 32;  YG01, 13, 25;  R11, 20,  30; T1, 3, 5; W1, 3, 5; E000, 00, 01, 11, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 47

Comments

  1. This is such a fabulous card, Mary!! I really love the frame in back of him. I would love to know how you do the background with the distress ink because it looks awesome.

  2. Fabulous card, coloring is fabulous, stitching, even your faux stitching looks real.

  3. Such a nice card! I still am in awe over your coloring..you are amazing!

  4. Fabulous card, Mary! Trevor looks very handsome and your coloring is so awesome! I can’t believe you did all that stitching by hand! It looks amazing!

  5. what a handsome guy Mary! what a creative idea to sew the tulip petals! ♥ it!
    I haven’t used this guy yet but now I’m inspired!
    Pam Going Postal

  6. can you tell I am catching up on my google reader LOL? Great use of stripes on this little Trevor!

Leave a Reply

