Copic Creations Challenge ~ Monochrome

 

Nope, no need to adjust your monitor . . . and nope, my camera did not break!  🙂   Our challenge this week at Copic Creations  is Monochrome ~ a super fun technique that I hope to use again!    The image above was colored with all warm gray toned Copic markers (the Ws), no colors were used ~ a definite first for me.   This little cute fairy is called Marissa.  

 

 

Marissa and the matching sentiment were provided by our amazingly talented sponsor – Katie Cotton.   She owns the online stamp store called Paper Makeup Stamps.    The name of her store is related to the fact that besides being an amazing paper crafting artist, she’s also a professional makeup and hair artist!   You REALLY need to check out her work – you will definitely not be disappointed . . . Katie’s makeup blog.

I was excited to find these rhinestone stickers in an actual GRAY stone  – I think they were made for this technique!    And, the background mat behind this adorable image has been highlighted with the new Distress Ink color of Pumice Stone  ~  another perfect match!    The paper is from Imaginisce, called To Love & Cherish.    

So be sure to stop over at the Copic Creations Challenge blog to see ALL the totally gorgeous creations from the awesome Design Team.   We also have links to some VERY helpful video tutorials, also from Katie, on this fun technique.    You really should try it ~ you’ll like it!   

Thanks for stopping by today – Hope you’re having a GREAT weekend!

***************************************************

W00, 0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 7  – That’s it!

Comments

  1. GF, are you kidding me???? This is the most incredible monochromatic colored image I’ve seen!!! WHEW!!!! How did you decide what colors to create your magic with as you began this???!!!!! WOW!!!! GENIUS work!!!

  2. Lynnor aka icensheba on SCS says:

    Mary, I can’t tell you how gorgeous this is! I love the look of the warm grays alone. I did this once with just a touch of pink on the characters lips and ears (it was a kitty) and it reminded me of an old comic strip! Your card is so elegant!! Love it!!

  3. This is stunning Mary! Love what you have achieved with one colour tone. Will be having a look at the videos and maybe give it a try as well. Have a great weekend. Hugs, Maria

  4. This is so awesome Mary! I truly truly LOVE it! Wonderful wonderful job!!!!!

  5. oh this is a hard challenge…I rarely use my warm grey markers…may have to give them a whirl after seeing this…another great card!

  6. This is really beautiful! I would never have expected that grey can be so vivid!

  7. Wow Mary!! Simply stunning!

  8. Hi Mary,

  9. Hi Mary,
    This is awesome! It is the best monocramatic work I have ever seen. I have absolutely NO idea where to even begin something like this. It is incredible…
    I have signed up for your blog updates. I have been away from my computer ill for a while. It doesn’t matter what you are working on – everything you touch is out of this world beautiful. I love your selection of stamps as well. Your House Mouse Bunny one is one of my favourites and what a grand job you did of it as well. Love the cone with the beautiful fairy as well as all of your other outstanding work :o)
    Big hugs, Candy

  10. Mary she’s perfect! As always your coloring blows me away. Love the card

  11. Oh wow. Just – wow. What a gorgeous result! Such a cool technique, would LOVE to give it a try!
    TFS
    Hugs
    Annika

  12. Wow Mary, this is amaizing . Love the colouring . Very elegant card.

  13. Fabulous Mary, what a ‘Happy’ image, coloured in your own inimitable way, love your papers and the sparkly swirls – truly gorgeous creation.
    hugs Heather xx

  14. Absolutely gorgeous…I was thinking of how to try this without the copic markers? Can this be done with watercolor pencils?

  15. What a cute card and image. This was a great challenge and I loved Katie’s tutorial. I think I’ve made 3 cards so far (and sent them) using a monochromatic color scheme. So glad to have become acquainted with her. Hugs,

  16. Mary!! This is just GORGEOUS!! Your coloring rocks!! I just LOVE this challenge and will be creating more cards using this technique!! SO fun!!

    Hugs
    Jodi =)

Leave a Reply

