Phindy’s Place Challenge ~ Masculine Cards

 

Happy Friday!!!   Time for a new challenge at Phindy’s Place!    Our challenge this week is Masculine cards/projects.    This seems to always be a tough one – especially with the current popularity of prima flowers, rhinestones and all the bright pinks and other more feminine papers out there for cards.    

I was happy to have the opportunity to use this little cutie for my card ~ Big Boots!   It’s pretty awesome that Phindy has this image available in the following formats ~ African American boy or girl –  boy or girl with glasses – and  caucasian boy or girl.    That’s just one of the many reasons why I love Phindy’s Place!

 

 

I thought it would be fun to make the computer generated sentiment look as though each word  has been nailed to the card.   I added a 3mm self-adhesive nail head  to each word “sign” and to the corners of the main mat and I also added a row of 5mm nail heads across the center of the card.    Both sizes of these nail heads are available at Gina K. Designs.  

The DP is from the Basic Grey Marrakech 6×6 paper pad.   I used a Spellbinders Nestabilities Large Labels die for the main image. 

I hope you will join us for this challenge  ~ be sure to stop over at Phindy’s Place Challenge blog for some amazing inspiration for this challenge from the awesome Design Team.  

*******************************

Copics Used:   R29, 35, 43, 46, 89;  B12, 14, 16;  Y11, 23, 26, 28;  E02, 13, 25, 27, 30, 31, 33, 34, 35, 37, 50, 51, 53, 55, 57,79;  W0, 1, 3;  T1, 3,5  

Comments

  1. I really love how you make your images pop and the colouring is absolutely amazing! The way you have cut up a sentiment is so cool!
    Tfs
    Hugs
    Annika

  2. Mary, I LOVE this!!! Your coloring knocks my socks off! Can’t wait to see some tutorials!

  3. Hi Mary, WOW….I love your card and your colouring….well i say it every week how amazingly talented you are with your copics!

    I would love to know which copic colours you used for your skin, im really struggling with darker skin so any help/advice you could give me would be much appreciated when you have a little time hunny

    Have a great weekend
    love emma xxx

  4. This is just fabulous, love the design and your coloring is awesome.

  5. This is absolutely darling, Mary!! I really love your coloring but this one is exceptional!!! LOVE it!

  6. oh you so captured the spirit of little boys with this one!

  7. Now isn’t this just the most fun!! Another fabulous card, Mary!

  8. oh my goodness, Mary.. this is AMAZING!!!! I cannot stop to stare at your colored images.. I really would love to know how to do coloring like you do 🙂 I wish I were only half as good as you are.. all of your images are so perfectly colored with all the shading and shadows and so on … you really bring them to life! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!!!
    {hugs} Sylvia

  9. yikes! this is soooooo adorable! coloring is perfect and your layout and dp are wonderful with your image!

  10. Deebi27 says:

    This little guy may have to wait to fill his daddy’s shoe, but he sure has the best start. Adorable! Your dp reminds me of the carpeting my work had in the lobby until recently. GREAT card Mary!

Leave a Reply

