All That Scraps Challenge ~ Cracked Glass

 

It’s that time again!   Time for a new challenge at All That Scraps.  Our challenge this week is the cracked glass technique … something I had never tried before and wasn’t too sure about it.    But, I must admit after giving it a try, I love it!!     Gina K Designs has an awesome video tutorial that includes putting your finished piece into the freezer, which I think, allows more control over where your “glass” cracks.

This image is from the C.C. Designs Sweet November collection ~ Darby & Penelope.   I’ve added some heavy jute twine and large eyelets to make it look like they are sitting on a swing together . . . not too sure it comes across that way!   

 

 

I added LOTS of layers of clear Ultra Thick Embossing Powder after coloring these cuties with Copics.  I was unsure how the EP might affect the Copic ink, but I was relieved to find that it didn’t do a thing!   Phew.   After bending the image for the cracked effect, I didn’t care too much for the cracks going over their faces, so I quickly took my heat gun and went over just that area to re-melt it, trying NOT to hit the other areas.   I then went over the cracks with some Distress Ink in Vintage Photo, as shown in Gina’s video.  

The dp is from the Basic Grey Max & Whiskers 6×6 paper pad, which actually has some cool papers that aren’t necessarily for dogs or cats!  The sentiment is from my favorite “go to” company for their awesome sayings – PTI; which has also been given the “cracked glass” treatment!   I used Spellbinders Nestabilites Labels 2, Large Petite Ovals and the new Large Mega Scalloped Ovals on this card.  And added a ribbon bow from my stash.

 

 

You really should give this challenge a try, you’ll find that it’s actually fun!   For some great inspiration to join us, be sure to pop over to the All That Scraps Wednesday Challenge blog to see all the awesome projects from the DT.

Hope you’re having a good week!

****************************************

Copics Used:   Y21, 23, 26;  R20, 30;  BG10, 11, 13, 18, 72;  E000, 00, 02, 08, 11, 50, 51, 53, 55, 57, 59;  W1, 3;  T1, 3, 5

Comments

  1. Wow Mary, this is gorgeous. A wonderful technique and so effective
    Clairex

  2. Fantastic card Mary! Love the colors, the layout, and your coloring. I like it all!

  3. Hi Mary

    this is soooooooooooooo beautiful
    your coloring is great and I love that detail the rope and buttons

    greetings karin

  4. Once again you have done something I have never tried and it looks so fun!! Fabulous, dahling!
    Hugs
    Annika

  5. Oh gosh, Mary, how DO you make all these cards almost everyday???
    Love your cracked glass technique and like that you took it off their cute faces. Another beauty :o)
    Hugs, Candy

  6. Gorgeous! I love how your cracked glass came out! The frame looks wonderful with the way your colored/distressed it and that swing is too cool! Fabulous card! :-)Traci

  7. Stunning card Mary,love the cracked glass effect,Hugs Debbie x

  8. This is just gorgeous work girl!! I LOVE this!!
    Very pretty colors, and this is one of my favorite images!
    Hugs
    Jodi =)

Leave a Reply

