Sundays With Crissy ~ Monochrome

 

Happpy Sunday and Happy Father’s Day!    I hope you’re having a great day.   It’s time for a new challenge at Sundays With Crissy.   This week we’re covering Monochrome cards ~  I’ll bet you’ll NEVER guess who suggested this challenge!???   🙂     Yep, it is my favorite.    This awesome image, illustrated by Crissy Armstrong, called Daddy’s Heartbeat, is available as a digi image from Whimsy Stamps.   I thought it was a perfect stamp for Father’s Day.

 

 

I’ve added a bit of color this time – a slight pink (E04) to their lips and cheeks and the flower on the little girl’s hat …. ohh, and of course her finger nails too!   The Copic markers I used  (E70s) seem to have a somewhat natural pink/reddish tone to them, so it was very easy to incorporate some color without it being too harsh.    You can find the colors used at the end of this post. 

The DP is from the Basic Grey cappella 6×6 paper pad … I really LOVE these papers!    I added a small bow using some brown crinkled ribbon from my stash, and attached a small heart charm.  

The sentiment is also a digi.   It is part of a set of sentiments and word art designed especially to coordinate with this image by Rainbow Echo Designs for Whimsy Stamps, called Daddy’s Heartbeat Sentiments ~  Although they are all appropriate for LOTS of others images and cards.   

I’ve used Spellbinders Nestabilities Labels Six dies for the sentiment.   The main image has been cut with the Petite Ovals Large dies.    The pearls in each corner were colored with an E70 Copic marker and the brown swirls on the center of the card were cut with an EK Success punch.

I hope you can stop over at the Sundays With Crissy blog to see the always amazing creations from the talented ladies on Crissy’s Crew ~ You won’t be disappointed.    We’ve decided with everyone’s busy schedules during the summer to run this challenge for four weeks.   It will run until July 18th ~  So you will have plenty of time to join us for this really fun challenge!   To sweeten the deal, Crissy will be having TWO PRIZES!!

***************************************

Copics Used:   E04, 70, 71, 74, 79

Comments

  1. This is lovely. This coloring technique looks so hard…maybe I will give it a try. You have it nailed tho with this wonderful image and sentiment!

  2. Thank you for suggesting this technique Mary! I don’t think I ever would have tried it otherwise. And it is so easy and fun too! Not hard at all!!! Plus it saves time – not having to decide what colours to match up. Your card is beautiful as I knew it would be! That DP really touches it off perfectly. And I love your smooth blending skillz woman! Always so perfect!
    hugz!

  3. What an awesome card and awesome image.

  4. O…M…G…another awesome card. Do you have some magic box that just pulls the RIGHT color cardstock out to match the stamps you are using???? lol I don’t know how you do it but your color choices are just perfect every time. I absolutely love looking (and drooling) at all of your beautiful cards.

  5. Deebi27 says:

    These monochromatic card are catching. Soft, subtle and touching, Mary!

  6. Wow!! Totally stunning!

  7. OH MARY!!!!
    This is AWESOME !! Your technique is beautiful………it looks so hard to do!
    I adore the colours you have used with the tinge of pink. Beautiful Beautiful work!!!
    I love the sentiment . What a touching picture and sentiment…….
    Big hugs, Candy

  8. gorgeous as always. 🙂 The colour combination with the pp is perfect and your shading and blending is beautiful. Hugs

  9. WOW! Your colouring is stunning! What a gorgeous card!!

  10. Sharman says:

    AWESOME as usual……This is just perfect.. Is it possible that you could get any better at your talent?? I don’t think so!!!!!! You are the best…WOW…………..

  11. Gorgeous work as always Mary!! One of my new favorite techniques! Your coloring is always to perfection!!
    Hugs
    Jodi =)

  12. OMG Mary, you totally master this tecnique!! You are soooo amazing, I love it!!

    Hugs,
    Patricia

  13. BARBARA ISERI says:

    Gee, this is so beautiful and awesome. You did such a gorgeous job with your coloring. I don’t think I have seen anything as beautiful and calming. This image will stay with me for a long time..

    thanks for sharing..

    hugs,
    bobbi

  14. This is just stunning Mary,love the mono look with this darling image,Hugs Debbie x

  15. Wooozzzzaaa that is something special.
    Great colouring and details on your card.

  16. Absolutely gorgeous Mary!! I love this!!!!! I love the touches of colour too–they really make the card!! Thanks for choosing this challenge it was so much fun to do!!
    Hugs,
    Sarah ☺

Leave a Reply

