House Mouse Challenge No. 73 ~ Happy Birthday . . . Miss America!!

 

Happy House Mouse Monday!!   

It’s a VERY special HM Monday and we have a VERY special challenge for you today!    One of my favorite people in the world had a birthday yesterday, and we’re having a surprise party for her!!

Smiley from millan.net

 

Yup, you guessed it  ~  it’s our own Miss America  from the House Mouse Design Team!!!   So, the entire team got together and made cards to celebrate her special day!    Be sure to stop over at the HM Monday challenge blog to take a peek at all the awesome cardz.   

Smiley from millan.net

Our actual challenge this week is Happy Birthday!   So I hope you can join us for this fun, super easy challenge.  For my card, I used this oh so cute Gruffie stamp called Beary Nice Celebration, featuring Pebble.   That look on his face just cracks me up … he looks like he’s been caught celebrating a bit too early!!    The “uh oh” and inside sentiment have been computer generated.

 

 

 

The paper is from Creative Imaginations and Pebbles has been colored with Copics.   I added some Liquid Pearls in White Opal (very heavily) for the frosting on the cake, and some Smooch pearlized paint in moonlight for the white streamers and snickerdoodle for his finger and toe nails.   I also used Martha Stewart Daisy Deep Fan corner and edge punches for the center matting.  And, I certainly can’t forget to mention that those teeny, tiny roses on the cake were made by moi!   😀    I used a very small flower punch to cut out five flowers for each, glued them together, spritzed them with water and roughed them up a bit ~ and sprayed them with some Shimmerz Spritz to make them look as though they were made of frosting!  

America is in the process of moving, along with her entire family – 4 kids and hubby, from the west coast of the USA to the east coast!   They’re taking their time and stopping at lots of fun places on the way.   So, she hasn’t been able to join us for challenges.   I think she will be surprised when she pops in the check out the HM&F blog today!!    (Fortunately, she has Internet access!)

Thanks for visiting!    And a VERY, VERY happy birthday (and many, many more) to my dear, sweet friend America!

  

*****************************************

Copics Used:   R00, 01, 27, 46, 89;  B91, 93, 95, 99;   E07, 50, 51, 53, 70, 71, 74;  Y11;  W1, 3, 5, 7;   T1, 3, 5

Comments

  1. oh wow Mary this is gorgeous hun, what a fantastic card.xxx

  2. Hi Mary
    wow hun an awesome card, fantastic colouirng, luv the cake, stunning creation, scoopy sue,x

  3. Wow!!! that cake is absolutely amazing!!! It looks as real as those cupcakes I got into the other day!! Fabulous card!!

  4. How Sweet;
    Happy Birthday America!!
    That cake and flowers look so real :). Awesome job

  5. how stinkin’ cute is this! The frosting is the perfect touch!

  6. I am simply blown away by your coloring on this image. That cake looks remarkably real! I just can’t get over it! The liquid pearls on the cake icing was such a brilliant idea. It looks perfect. Just awesome! You did a perfect job coordinating all of this too! Best, Curt

  7. Well, there is always that one Gruffie that just can’t wait for the party to start!!!
    Wonderful coloring, image just pops off the paper. Love all your details on the layout too. America is going to love the sentiment too.

    Great job planning this surpirse party! The website looks great and the team made some awesome cards. Such great fun! Thanks for all you do.

    Hugs
    Sue

  8. Fantastic card !! I love the icing and the roses ,,, brilliant ! 🙂 I am sure America is going to be thrilled with this challenge dedicated to her ,, fabulous idea Mary 🙂
    Luv
    Lols x x x

  9. Hi Mary awesome creation says she picking her jaw off the floor..the cake is fantastic wanna eat it..& the gruffie well hes just adorable..def did America proud with this master piece.

    Hugs teamie Christine xx

  10. Awesome card Mary, love your design, fabulous details, and your colouring of that adorable Gruffie is out of this world.
    Thanks for all the time and trouble you’ve taken to allow us all to do this for the fabulous Ameerica.
    hugs Heather xx

  11. Deebi27 says:

    Very cute…caught in the act! I guess it’s not just us humans that sneak a bite/swipe of a cake! I LOVE this card Mary. I want a bite too!!

  12. Oh yummy! That frosting looks so real!! I want some..NOW! LOL!!
    Fabulous!! You are just so talented and creative!!

  13. Ummm…enough of these darn pretzels I am munching on…I need cake…with lots of fluffy frosting! This card really looks good enough to eat! Seriously…I am so inspired to go find a goodie now! Great card…love that fancy border!

  14. Awwwww…this is just about the cutest. Amazing coloring…jaw dropping, mouth open, speechless coloring!

  15. Hi Mary ~

    I received your email update and had to come and leave a comment!!! This is soooooooooo adorable! You’ve got some fabulous texture and creative ideas throughout this amazing card 🙂 Very very well done!
    Love and hugs ~
    Lori

  16. Hello Mary!
    Your card is amazing. Love your coloring and all the pretty papers. Thank you so much for the great surprise for Miss America.

    Hugs, Natascha

  17. Holy Smokes GF!!! This is an incredible design!! WOW!! I cant get over how perfectly real that cake looks!! What a fantastic PATRIOTIC/Birthday card! I really really love this!! AND OH MY goodness!! WHAT A BEAUTIFUL SURPRISE!! THANK YOU SOOOO very MUCH for ‘being sneaky’ with your FAB birthday wishes and for being so thoughtful and for being the sweetest thing ever!! You have totally made my week!!!!! 🙂 This cross country roadtrip has been FUN, exciting, exhausting but also quite the adventure!!! Lots of family bonding!!!! We are halfway there. Will be in NEW YORK by mid August- and hopefully settled by September. 🙂 I am really missing my crafting goodies…. so I will be back to designing soon. Please dont give up on me. 🙂

  18. PICK MY CHIN UP OFF THE FLOOR!!!!!!!!!! This is DA’BOMB!!!!

  19. That CAKE! Oh my heavens, I want to eat it right now. I’m just having so much fun strolling through your blog. You do some amazing work!

Leave a Reply

