Tilda’s Shoji Screen/Room Divider Directions

Hello!   Hope you’re having a good weekend. I’ve received a few emails asking how this screen behind Tilda on this card was made . . .

Here’s a quick photo tutorial on how I did it:

Supplies used:

I used the middle die from a Spellbinders Nestabilities Long Classic Rectangle LG set, which measures 1 7/8 x 3 3/4; However, I think a rectangle punch approximately this same size will work also.

cardstock

vellum paper

paper-cutter

Cuttlebug or other due cutting machine

adhesive

removable tape

  • Cut cardstock to 4 1/2 by 4 1/2 inches, and cut vellum to 4 3/8 by 4 3/8 inches. (Sorry, I only had this dotted vellum in my stash as an example.)

  • Place die on cardstock, centered on one half. Note, I’ve adhered it with a small piece of removeable tape to be sure it doesn’t shift in the Cuttlebug.

  • Run this through the machine and move the die to the other half of your cardstock. Be sure to save the two inside pieces for later use.

  • Apply adhesive to back of cardstock “frame”.

  • And attach pre-cut vellum piece.

  • The final step is to take the center pieces of cardstock and cut your dividing pieces. I just cut these without measuring, I believe they are about 1/4 inch wide. You don’t have to worry about the length, if you cut the longer pieces from one and the cross pieces from the other piece – they will fit perfectly.

  • And attach these to your frame. Done! Your mini Shoji is now ready for Tilda. 🙂

I hope this was helpful! If you do use this idea for a card, I’d love to see it. Thanks for all your VERY kind comments!

Comments

  1. I just found your blog and subscribed to it. I LOVE your work. : )

  2. Hi Mary
    gorgeous card, fabulous colouring, GORGEOUS design hun, luv it, sue,x

  3. GREAT tutorial!

  4. Beautiful!

  5. Just had to pop in after seeing this in my inbox… Mary, this is FABULOUS!!! Thanks for the tutorial!
    Love and hugs ~
    Lori

  6. Mary thank you for sharing this with us..this is one fabulous card.

  7. Thanks for sharing with us it is a stunning card
    hugs Debbie

  8. Thanks for sharing…

  9. Thanks for sharing Mary!! I love looking at your card!!! Hugs,

  10. Stunning creation Mary from the amazing colouring to the papers, flowers and screen you have created. Thanks for sharing the tute – it is fabulous. Hugs, Maria

  11. so cute!

    Janna

  12. What a fab idea, thanks for the tutorial – and I must confess I’ve been staring at the lush colouring of Tilda’s robes. Yum!
    Hugs
    Annika

  13. oh goodness…you made it so easy!

  14. This is the first time I’ve stopped by, but I LOVE your style. The striking colors on this card drew my eye immediately. FANTASTIC! I’ll definitely be checking by again and again. Hugs

Leave a Reply

