7 Kids College Fund & All That Scraps Challenges

7 Kids College Fund Challenge

  

  

Awwww … how adorable is he?!    Happy Wednesday!   Time again for another double-header Wednesday actually.   

Our new challenge today for the 7 Kids College Fund Challenge blog  is a fun and super easy one – Flowers & Layers.    And, the awesome prize is $20.00 worth of the brand new Zva Creative mini rose blossoms in 1/2″ to 1 3/8″ in size, as well as rose buds ~ available in lots of colors including red, pink, peach, lime, olive, lavender, white, cream, ginger, and blue.

Here’s my card using the Thanks a Bunch Popcorn Bear from Crafters Companion . . .

 

 

I hope you can join us for this challenge, and be sure to check out the awesome samples from the Design Team.

 

All That Scraps Challenge

 

 

And, of course, Wednesday also means a new challenge at All That Scraps.   This week Lesa challenged us to creat some type of Fall decoration.    This was my first attempt at rubber stamping on a candle!    It’s definitely much easier than you would think!    I followed this very helpful tutorial over at Splitcoast Stampers.   And, believe me – if I can do it … anyone can!    What a great idea with the upcoming holidays . . . hmmmmmmmm.  

I used the C.C. Designs Swiss Pixies Fall Scene, colored with Copics for my candle.   Unfortunately, when coloring on the tissue paper, it’s a little hard to get much shading since the ink really soaks in quickly.     

I also wanted to share the super simple little “doily”  for under the candle that I made using the largest die from the new Spellbinders Nestabilities  Beaded Circles Decorative Elements  dies . . .

 

 

It turned out to be the perfect size to match my candle!   I was thinking some silver or gold metallic cardstock would be pretty for a Christmas candle, or some wool felt would be nice too.    Eeeek … guess Santa will be busy making LOTS of candles this year!   LOL

So be sure to hop over to the All That Scraps Challenge blog  to see some awesome Fall themed decorations from the always amazing Design Team.

Thanks for visiting today!

 

Comments

  1. Hi Mary,
    This card make me thing of my mama 🙂
    So cute and precious image and such a happy colourful card.

  2. oh my goodness, cut it out with al that cuteness!!!!! What awesome coloring and cutting. Love the sparkle on the flowers. And can I just say how much of a thoughtful creative genius YOU ARE?? there I said it. That candle Doily business is brilliant GF!!! I love the idea. Now how in the world do you make candles?? LOL….

  3. Mary, that bear image is just the sweetest!!! The card is just adorable!!! Love the idea of using the nestie die cut as a base for a candle! The possibilities are endless for this!!!!

  4. What a fantastic card! So bright and cheerful. Looking at it makes me smile. You have done a wonderful job. Congrats. Jenny

  5. beautifully done, mary! the colors really *pop* even after you’ve melted the image into the candle! awesome job on this week’s challenge! 🙂

  6. Stunning card, Mary!! ♥ Gorgeous coloring and such great bright colors! I love it!

    Hugs,
    ⓂⒶⓃⓊⒺⓁⒶ

  7. WOW, WOW, WOW Mary, this card is soooo cute!! Your coloring is flawless!! I love all the accents, paper and layout. Fabulous card! Hugs, Rosemary

  8. That bear is just the sweetest, Mary! Love the daisies and all the yellow, makes me happy to look at it!
    Wonderful idea for the candle, love the image right on the candle and the doily is the perfect finishing touch!

  9. Love your sweet bear card, Mary.
    Great idea you had to use the spellbinder die cut under your candle!
    Hugs ~

  10. Awesome Mary…I just colored up a popcorn bear with yellow daffodils! We must have been in tune! Haven’t made mine into a card yet!

  11. Hi Mary,
    Your card and decorated candle are beyond beautiful! I love your candle and will definitely have to give this a try! Thanks for the inspiration!
    hugs
    Risa:)

  12. Such a cute card! Wonderful job coloring and I love the sparkles.

  13. Mary! Another stunner! WOW, that little bear and chick are so beautifully colored! You’re a true artist! Love the layout, but those papers are the bomb and all that detail! This would win any contest for sure!

  14. OMG Mary!!! My turn to oooh and awww… can’t believe how adorable your card is. Love all the detail, you are amazing…

  15. I love how you worked this stamped. Linked it on my blog! TFS

  16. Love the stamped candle! Great creative blog and thanks for sharing! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

