My Magnolia Days

Happy September 1st!!    It’s so hard to believe the date – where did the summer go?!

Why is that summer always goes by so quickly … but winter seems to stay forever?

Free Smiley Courtesy of www.millan.net

I’m happy to say that I am now officially a member of the awesome Magnolia-licious DT!   What a great group of amazingly talented fellow Magnolia-lovers!

My first challenge today with the Magnolia-licious group, from the fabulously creative Cabio Tse, is …

ANYTHING But a Card!  

I must admit this type of challenge is always a REAL challenge for me … as the name says I’m much more comfortable making My Cardz!   But, it’s good to step out of your comfort zone occasionally!  Right?

Here are the challenge details:

HOW TO PLAY
-Enter a project by Sept 30th that is ANYTHING But a Card
-You must use at least ONE Magnolia Stamp
-Only New Projects will be accepted
WHAT YOU CAN WIN
-a $25 Gift Certificate to Magnolia-licious store!!!

And, for some GREAT inspiration for this challenge, be sure to hop over to the Magnolia-licious Highlites Blog to take a peek at the gorgeous projects from the amazing DT … you definitely won’t be disappointed!

*****************************************************

For my ANYTHING But a Card project, I found a Tabbed Weekly Calendar kit from Pine Cone Press at Archivers.   I thought it might be a fun way to share an update each week with a week and Magnolia cutie.

These photos are front the front cover … I actually used some SPARKLE Mod Podge on the background papers, it’s a lot sparklier  (word?) IRL!   Here’s one that shows a little more of the sparkle:

And, here’s my first page/week … notice today’s date?   My first Magnolia-licious day!  🙂

I thought this cutie pie Tilda with Sunflower was perfect for the start of the Fall season.  And since tomorrow starts a new week, I also did a page for next week …

This is Tilda Sparkles from the Sweet Christmas Dreams Collection.   I know, not really an Autumn image, but since I’m pretty limited in stamps for this season, for some reason, I thought she might work.

And here’s a quick photo of the calendar showing both weeks.

I hope you will join us at the Magnolia-licious Highlites Blog for this challenge

Thanks for visiting today … and a special thank-you to everyone who left comments yesterday.   You definitely made my day!   I was a little nervous about starting again and you’ve truly made me feel right at home once again!   Thank you, thank you thank you!

SUPPLIES USED:

First Week:

  • Sunflower Tilda
  • MME – Indie Chic, Nutmeg 6×6 collection DP
  • Pine Cone Press Tabbled Weekly Calendar
  • PTI ~ stampers select cardstock
  • Distress Ink ~ tumbled glass, broken china, forest moss
  • The Paper Studio ~ self-adhesive crackle gemstones
  • Misc. ribbon & tulle
  • Spellbinders Nestabilities Blossom Two
  • Pop Dots
  • Copics used:
    • skin – E000,00, 21, 11, 13; R20, 30
    • hair – E50, 51, 53, 55, 57
    • dress – BG000, 01, 09, 72; Y21, 26
    • shoes – E40, 42, 43, 44
    • sunflower – YR30; Y21, 26; YG91, 95, 97
    • outlining – T0, 1, 3, 5

Second Week:

  • Tilda Sparkles
  • MME – Indie Chic, Nutmeg 6×6 collection DP
  • PTI ~ stampers select cardstock
  • Gold metallic cardstock
  • Distress Ink ~ scattered straw
  • Stickles ~ Golden Rod
  • Misc. gold glittered brads
  • Misc. ribbon
  • Pop Dots
  • Copics used:
    • skin – E000,00, 21, 11, 13; R20, 30
    • hair – E50, 51, 53
    • clothes – Y21, 23, 26, 28
    • shoes – E40, 42, 43
    • outlining – T, 1, 3, 5
Comments

  1. absolutely stunning…!! love how you colour the images.

  2. Wow , how awesome are those. You inspire me girl, these are fabulous. Congratulations on being on the DT team. But honestly I can see why they chose you. Your work is over the top awesome. Hugs, Cathy k

  3. Absolutely beautiful calendar you’ve created here Mary. You’ve used gorgeous papers and colors and your coloring is lovely as always! hugs, Angela

  4. What afabulous idea and awesome calendar! I love the color combination and DP. The skin tones you achieve on these images are realistic and of pure gorgeousness. Still jumping for joy to see you are back to crafting. Love it! YOU that keep that up GF! 🙂

  5. MARY !!!!! where have you been ???? we missed you !! this just popped up in my inbox and I couldn’t believe that you’re back with us ,,, YAY !!! 🙂
    Well you might have been away for a while but your talent isn’t rusty !! brilliant as always ! 🙂

    Welcome back me darlin 🙂
    luv
    Lols x x x

  6. Another wowzer cute creation May now we want to see your awesome mousey creations popping up here..lovely to have you back..

    mousey hugs sister meece Christine x

  7. Sorry am typing that fast & excited to see you I spelt your name wrong MARY..lol

    Christine x

  8. So happy to see you back, Mary! You have been missed, love seeing your beautiful works of art.

  9. WOW you are back with a BANG and on the DT! so thrilled for you!!! lovin this calendar book and where in the world are you finding the time …it’s gorgeous!

  10. Super creation Mary. Lovely coloring and design. Congrats on the DT.
    hugs Maz

  11. OMG, WELCOME BACK! I will try this again! My dear Mary, I saw your post yesterday and was sooo thrilled to see you posting your art again. Magnolia-licious knows a talent when they see one and I know they were thrilled to have you back as well!

    I love your NO Card entry, it’s Mary times 10! I sure hope you post your no card monthly entries!
    Well done!

  12. Gorgeous coloring! A great idea to make a calendar with a weekly Magnolia! Love it!
    Hugs, Elizabeth x

  13. So nice to see you back Mary! I have missed you.

    Hugs,
    Julie

  14. This is awesome, Mary! I love your calendar idea. Your Magnolias are darling and beautifully colored. Congrats on your new DT position for Magnolia-licious. It is such an honor isn’t it?
    Hugz,
    Cathy Lee

  15. Welcome back Mary. I couldn’t tell you how excited I am to see your projects again. The even best thing is that I get to be the same DT with you. Your calendar with these gorgeous colored Tilda is absolutely fablous!!! Can’t wait to see more of your wonderful creations coming up :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

Trackbacks

  1. […] Time for a new week in my continuing My Magnolia Days calendar.  (Original post can be found HERE) […]

Leave a Reply

