Phindy’s Place Challenge ~ Paper Piecing

 

Yay!    It’s Friday … and not just any old Friday, it’s a Friday before a THREE-DAY weekend!!!   (here in the USA)    I’m soooo looking forward to a nice, lonnnnnnnnnnnng, relaxing weekend!   How about you?  

Our challenge today at Phindy’s Friday Challenge blog is Paper Piecing … one of my favorites!    Unfortunately, this card did NOT turn out as I had pictured.   ugh.   I was running behind and didn’t have time to do much about it.   I had planned to make the card more horizontal rather than vertical.   By the time I realized the image wouldn’t work that way, I was stuck and the clock was ticking!    So,  here’s my slightly top-heavy paper piecing card!

 

 

I must say I did LOTS of paper-piecing on this card ~ the apple letters, shirt, pants, shoes, desk, desktop, notebook, apple  … and RULER!    (that was a little bit of cutting!)     This little cutie is one of Phindy’s awesome Cute Kids called Ready to Go!    Quite an appropriate name ~ he sure looks ready to get started!    I remember those days when my kids were young, which quickly turn into …. “I don’t want to go back to school” when they’re a little older.

I hope you can take a peek at the awesome paper piecing cardz from Phindy’s Design Team.   All the details on this challenge can be found there too!

Thanks for your visit today!    I hope you have a GREAT weekend … short or long!   🙂

 

  ******************************************************  

Supplies Used:  

  • Phindy’s Place ~ Ready to Go!
  • My Mind’s Eye ~ Alphabet Soup Boy Super Stripe
  • My Mind’s Eye ~ Alphabet Soup Boy Accessory Sheet
  • PTI white cardstock
  • Computer generated sentiment ~ (ready set go!)
  • miscellaneous rub-on letters from stash
  • Fiskars ~ apple of my eye punch
  • Distress ink ~ tumbled glass
  • Distress ink ~ bundled sage
  • Pop Dots
  • Copics:   BG75, 78;  R20, 29, 30, 83;  E000, 00, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 30, 42, 43, 44;  W3;  T1, 3, 5

Comments

  1. i KNEW you were going to rock that challenge – your paper-piecing skills have left me speechless before. This time is no exception – incredibly cute and I love the bright papers and that big colourful sentiment!
    Hugs
    Annika

  2. He’s so sweet and I think your card has worked out great Mary, love all the bright happy colours, really cheerful to look at
    Hugs
    Anne

  3. OMG, this is fabulous. Your colours are so bright and happy and the papers you used are awesome. I love the apple banner at the top.
    Hugs!
    Cec

  4. This is so cute it just makes me want to squeeze him!! Those clothes look like clothes from Grrranimals!!! LOL! They just match perfect with his red hair. TOO CUTE!!!!

  5. you are sooooo incredible! your piecing is right on …and I am loving how you did his wood desk! you always leave my jaw hangin open LOL

  6. This is beyond adorable. When I grow up, I want to color just like you! LOL

  7. Kathy Bradley says:

    Oh wow – Mary – what a wonderful card – the coloring is fantastic and the layout spectacular. Aren’t your fingers achy from all the intricate cutting? This is dynamite. Did I just say “dynamite?” I haven’t used that word since the 80’s – I wonder what that means?! Anyway – bravo!

  8. Just look at all that wonderful paper piecing!! Your fingers must be sore….
    This little guy is so cute – he reminds me of my grandson.
    I think your card is just perfect – love the ‘ready – set – go’!!
    Great papers and love the measuring tape – ruler – across the page.
    Hugs ~

  9. too cute!! it would be a good card to give to a teacher at the beginning of the year.

  10. Holy Smoke!!! This card is the absolute fabulously fun card!!! I love this card Ms Mary 🙂 As a teacher I would love to receive this made by Mary card. Nice getting back to the old habits 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] Phindy’s Place Friday Challenge post can be found HERE. […]

Leave a comment